https://assets-global.website-files.com/5c7536fc6fa90e7dbc27598f/5e54eef56dc90c9accce1fe2_groups_large.png

From the start the goal behind nerd.vision was to allow people to collaboratively debug and share data between users. With the latest release of nerd.vision we have added the ability to have groups. These groups allow multiple people to view, edit and modify tracepoints and snapshots on the same workspace.

Creating a group

To create a group you can simply use the ‘create’ button in the header or on the group switcher there is a ‘Create new group’ button.

https://assets-global.website-files.com/5c7536fc6fa90e7dbc27598f/5e4cf2ab341a241f99c679e1_Screenshot%20from%202020-02-19%2009-32-26.png
Group Switcher

From the create group drawer you can invite as many users as you would like, they will then receive an invite link in their email. You can then switch between all the groups you are a member of with the group switcher!

Why use a group?

When you sign up to nerd.vision you will be added to your private group, this group is only accessible to you. This means you can keep your code private and has the benefit of keeping your debug sessions private from others. This also allows you to easily use nerd.vision while developing locally without affecting all deployments.

So why create other groups?

The idea behind the groups is to allow easy separation of deployments, e.g. production, staging etc, as an alternative to using the tagging feature of the workspaces. It also allows you to share information between your team. So you can have multiple people debugging an issue across the deployments with out any fear of service interruption.

Who is active?

When you are using a group you will be able to see who is also using the same group and workspace in the top bar with the activity monitor. This is inspired by other collaborative services, and will indicate who else is active on the same workspace and group.

https://assets-global.website-files.com/5c7536fc6fa90e7dbc27598f/5e4d038f353eb087dc923a8a_Screenshot%20from%202020-02-19%2010-44-23.png
User indicator

Group management

You can manage the groups you are a member of in the accounts section of nerd.vision. Here you can invite new members to existing groups, or remove them. Create new groups, or delete them. For this first version of the groups, there are no roles available, this is something we will be adding in a future release. At this stage we felt that the need for a way to collaboratively debug and share information was needed for people to see the full benefit of nerd.vision.

What is next?

The next stage for the groups will be the addition of user roles within the groups, and group plans (at this stage all groups are restricted to the ‘lite’ plan).

As with all things nerd.vision we are looking for feedback for the product, and welcome you to our discord server to talk about your needs.

Ben

Experienced developer in various languages, currently a product owner of nerd.vision leading the back end architecture.